Music to spark a better life for older adults and preschoolers

Recorders and Older Adults


Alan playing the recorder

Many people have had the experience of playing recorders in elementary music classes.  Some of us have had the pleasure of playing in recorder ensembles.  I have taught recorder to youth finding the “Recorder Karate” very helpful for the process.  They are affordable and easy to play.  Breath and finger control are required.

March is “Play the Recorder Month”.  So, that got me thinking if I should offer a recorder class to well elderly or in an assisted living setting.  As a music therapist, I can see lots of educational and social opportunities from such a group.  And, I know it would also have some challenges.

Place your “vote” in the poll below and feel free to leave any comments on your experiences.

Comments on: "Recorders and Older Adults" (3)

  1. soundscapemusictherapy said:

    If you do get to do this, I’d love to hear how it works out! I’d be reluctant to invest in the equipment if I wasn’t sure how well it would work. Also, I’d be curious to hear how you handle the infection control part of it.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

