Music to spark a better life for older adults and preschoolers

Family in Song


A large family having fun by the water.

Image via Wikipedia

My family is important to me. I love my husband & daughter. My dad, siblings, their spouses/significant others, their kids all fill my thoughts. Then there are my many aunts, uncles and cousins. These are special people to me. And, I hope they know that.

I know from conversations with older adults and with young children, families are important to them, too.  With that in mind, here are  few family songs you could use to create a family themed music event.

  • Daddy Sang Bass
  • We are Family
  • I want a Girl
  • Take My Hand My Son
  • Que Sera, Sera
  • Daddy Little Girl
  • Cats in the Cradle
  • Sunrise, Sunset

If you like these, be sure you are receiving my SPARKS newsletter. When you do, you’ll be able to access my July 9th Family Reunion theme for even more ideas.

Comments on: "Family in Song" (5)

  1. Hello! This is Emily from “Sing Books with Emily,” here…
    There is a lovely Singable Picture Book to go with “Sundrise, Sunset.”
    Find info about it, here:
    http://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/2010/05/02/sunrise-sunset-a-singable-picture-book/
    Best wishes!
    Emily

  2. I’ve always wanted to learn Daddy Sings Bass! Maybe I could do that this week. Thanks for this great list. You always come up with the best song ideas, JoAnn!

    • Happy to be of service. Didn’t try it this week, but just thought it would be fun to assign different instruments or drums to the various family members of Daddy, Mama, & “me & little brother”.

  3. […] Family in Song (musicsparks.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

